Shadows of Progress 4-DVD set


Out of stock

SKU: RF_5LV8CW18922 Category:


From the British Film Institute   

Shadows of Progress 4-DVD set

Year: 1951-1977 | 4 discs  | Colour: black & white

Running time: 830 minutes

This landmark collection brings together over 14 hours of film material preserved in the BFI National Archive, telling the previously untold story of British documentary film-making through the 1950s, 60s and 70s.

As Britain emerged from the second world war, new social and political challenges brought about inevitable change. This created a need to look at, and engage with, the country’s people and places, values and industries. Until now, the films and filmmakers in this collection have been overlooked and under-appreciated. The films presented here – commissioned by private industry, commercial sponsors, Government departments and independent charities – are every bit as inspired, ground-breaking and indispensable as anything produced by the Free Cinema or British Documentary movements.

Disc one: The Island

David (Paul Dickson, 1951)

To Be a Woman (Jill Craigie, 1951)

The Island (Peter Pickering, 1952)

The Elephant Will Never Forget (John Krish, 1953)

Sunday by the Sea (Anthony Simmons, 1953)

Henry (Lindsay Anderson, 1955)

Foot and Mouth (Lindsay Anderson, 1955)

Birthright (Sarah Erulkar, 1958)

They Took Us to the Sea (John Krish, 1961)

Faces of Harlow (Derrick Knight, 1964)


Disc two: Return to Life

Thursday’s Children (Lindsay Anderson and Guy Brenton, 1954)

There Was a Door (Derek Williams, 1957)

People Apart (Guy Brenton, 1957)

Return to Life (John Krish, 1960)

Four People (Guy Brenton, 1962)

A Time to Heal (Derrick Knight, 1963)

Time Out of Mind (Eric Marquis, 1968)


Disc three: The Shadow of Progress

Three Installations (Lindsay Anderson, 1952)

The Film That Never Was (Paul Dickson, 1957)

Stone Into Steel (Paul Dickson, 1960)

From First To Last (Anthony Simmons, 1962)

People, Productivity and Change (Peter Bradford, 1963)

Shellarama (Richard Cawston, 1965)

Picture to Post (Sarah Erulkar, 1969)

The Shadow of Progress (Derek Williams, 1970)


Disc four: Today in Britain

Today in Britain (Peter Hopkinson, 1964)

I Think They Call Him John (John Krish, 1964)

Portrait of Queenie (Michael Orrom, 1964)

Education for the Future (Derrick Knight, 1967)

Tomorrow’s Merseysiders (Eric Marquis, 1974)

Time of Terror (Eric Marquis, 1975)

The Shetland Experience (Derek Williams 1977)

Price £25.00 with free UK postage.

Additional information

Weight .505 kg
Dimensions 29.7 × 21.0 × 3.0 cm